The weaker vessel: Being the Bride of the Bridegroom

 

While attending the last day of the Father’s love conference hosted by Ian Ross, our pastor quite excitedly got up out of his chair and asked ‘Now, is there anybody here who would like to share their testimony of what this weekend meant to them?’

At that very moment I had felt the warmth and the power of the anointing minister to me – a very tired individual, instantly restoring my energy and prompting me to share what He has just whispered into my ear. A touch from my Lover. But after a while, I had thought that now was not the time to share this revelation with the Church, I had to wait for my turn to speak. So after looking suitably zapped and aglow with the glory, my husband asked me what He’d just said. I shared with Him the revelation the Lord had imparted to me about the Bride being the weaker vessel, and the Bridegroom being the stronger vessel. My husband ever being ‘on fire’ to share this testimony, took my hand and ever so gently lead me to the front where he interrupted the worship and alerted the Church that I had something to say.

This is roughly what the Lord had spoken through me – keep in mind it is unedited as it is verbal and word for word, but hey. To Him be the glory!

 

“Hi guys. As I was sitting there, I was thinking about what to share with you guys this weekend. So I just wanted to impart that this weekend with Ian Ross here, and me experiencing the Father’s love anew while singing that beautiful song ‘ Father God I wonder’, and being very tired and having the Lord minister to me, what this weekend meant to me. Sitting in my chair being in a very vulnerable place with the Lord – listening to the music being played, I was a total wreck. But in this place of intimacy with Him, I had heard Him give me another revelation on what it means to be the Bride. He reminded me of the verse, 1 Peter 3:7:

‘Husbands, likewise, dwell with them with understanding, giving honor to the wife, as to the weaker vessel, and as being heirs together of the grace of life, that your prayers may not be hindered.’

He said to us through this, that we – the Bride of Christ, the Wife of the Lamb are the weaker vessel. But thank God we have a stronger vessel. Our husband, Jesus Christ. Another thing He added and keeps on reminding us over and over, is that a weak Church in itself is a strong Church in Him. We are a strong Church, but only in Him not in ourselves! The only way for His full power to come into and operate in the Church is by boldly confessing our weaknesses and thereby receiving the grace of the Lord (His strength made perfect in weakness).

He just reminded me of the song by Casting Crowns that completely shows how this statement is true. It’s called Wedding Day..

There’s a stirring in the throne room
And all creation holds it’s breath
Waiting now to see the bride groom
Wondering how the bride will dress
And she wears white
And she knows that she’s undeserving
She bears the shame of history
But this worn and weary maiden
Is not the bride that he sees
And she wears white, head to toe
But only he could make it so”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

